Featured Stories

Refusing to wear a mask in Miami Beach will cost you $50

Virus Outbreak Florida
Beachgoers wear face masks as they walk along a path Sunday, April 19, 2020, in Miami Beach, Fla., during the coronavirus outbreak. (AP Photo/Wilfredo Lee)

Starting on Wednesday until Sunday, the City of Miami Beach will issue citations to people who refuse to wear face masks.

Violators who refuse to put on a mask after being offered one will face a $50 fine.

Enforcement is set for commercial areas that see a lot of foot traffic during the Thanksgiving holiday beginning Wednesday through Sunday.

Face covering enforcement came to a halt back in September when Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis issued an executive order preventing cities from fining people.

On Wednesday, DeSantis extended the executive order, but Miami Beach will continue to move forward with enforcement of face coverings in popular commercial areas after the order expires.