Featured Stories

Palm Beach County 2021 Municipal Elections Today

Arjan Walia
(AP Photo/Marcio Jose Sanchez, File)

Palm Beach County, FL – Today is election day for 19 municipalities here in Palm Beach County. Polls open at 7.
The Palm Beach County Supervisor of Elections office has already mailed more than 124,000 vote-by-mail ballots to Palm Beach County voters, kicking off the 2021 local Municipal Elections.

Click here to see a complete list of the precincts and polling locations participating in the March 9, 2021 Municipal Elections.

Municipal races are non-partisan, therefore, all registered voters who live within the participating municipalities’ boundaries may vote in the municipal elections.

Voters that have an existing request for a Vote-by-Mail ballot have already received their vote-by-mail ballot.

Click here to view a pdf of the generic sample ballot for each municipality including: Belle Glade, Boca Raton, Briny Breezes, Delray Beach, Haverhill, Hypoluxo, Juno Beach, Lake Worth Beach, Lantana, Loxahatchee Groves, North Palm Beach, Ocean Ridge, Pahokee, Palm Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, Riviera Beach, South Bay, Tequesta, and West Palm Beach.

Here’s an overview of what’s on each municipality’s ballot:

Belle Glade
Belle Glade’s 7,889 active voters, as of the end of January, will have their say in three elections for Seats C, D and E.

Boca Raton
Boca Raton, which has the second-largest electorate of this election with 71,839 voters, has two three-year City Council seats up for grabs.
Voters in Boca Raton will also be asked to approve or deny two charter amendments. The first asks whether the city charter should require a candidate to live in the city for at least a year before the qualifying period, rather than the current requirement of 30 days, and disqualify someone with a non-city homestead exemption.

Briny Breezes
The races for mayor and two aldermen have already been decided in Briny Breezes as no one stepped up to challenge Mayor Jene Adams and Aldermen Sue Thaler and A.C. “Chick” Behringer.
But the 339 voters of the mobile home town, the smallest electorate this cycle, must choose whether to accept or decline a change to their charter.

Delray Beach
Three incumbents face challengers in Delray Beach, where 50,867 voters will have a say. Delray Beach does not pose a ballot question to its voters.

The 1,385 voters in Haverhill have just one choice to make: who should fill Seat 5? Incumbent Mark C. Uptegraph faces off against Teresa M. Johnson, executive director of Northwest Community Consortium.

Juno Beach
The oceanside town has one of Palm Beach County’s smallest electorates, yet this election poses the most ballot questions. Don’t forget to flip over your two-sided ballot, Juno Beach voters.

Lake Worth Beach
Three incumbents seek re-election to Lake Worth Beach’s City Commission, while a fourth race aims to fill the void left by state Rep. Omari Hardy.
Mayor Pam Triolo faces the most competition in Ronald J. Hensley, private investigator William Joseph and attorney Betty Resch. District 1 incumbent Scott Maxwell faces Sarah Malega, while District 3 incumbent Andy Amoroso faces environmentalist Drew Martin and Kim Stokes, who works in educational technology.

The 7,362 voters of Lantana will make their choice for mayor: 20-year incumbent David J. Stewart, who was caught up in the “sex for speed bumps” scandal, or Robert Hagerty, a retired police officer. A judge in 2019 asked a panel to toss the ethics complaints launched against Stewart.

Loxahatchee Groves
Two seats are up for grabs in Loxahatchee Groves, where about 2,400 people are eligible to vote.

North Palm Beach
Two incumbents face a challenger each on the North Palm Beach ballot. The 11,047 voters of North Palm Beach will not be asked any ballot questions.

Ocean Ridge
Ocean Ridge’s 1,733 voters will pick two names out of four candidates on the ballot to sit on the commission.

Voters will make choices in two Pahokee races for Groups 1 and 2. Pahokee’s 3,042 voters won’t have a ballot question.

Palm Beach
Just one race will be decided by town of Palm Beach voters, as Julie Araskog and Danielle Moore faced no challengers in the race for Town Council Member Group 2 and mayor, respectively. After five terms as mayor, Gail Coniglio announced in December she would not seek re-election. The 8,702 voters in Palm Beach will not have a ballot question.

Palm Beach Gardens
The 47,556 eligible voters in Palm Beach Gardens will pick between Marcie Tinsley, a land planner and former council member, and Rob Nanfro, a certified public accountant, to fill the Group 2 seat vacated by Maria Marino, who serves on the Palm Beach County Commission.

Riviera Beach
KaShamba Miller-Anderson will keep her District 2 seat after no one ran against her. But voters in Riviera Beach will decide between District 4 incumbent Julia Botel or Glen Spiritis, a former city manager of Long Beach, N.Y., who has served on Riviera’s Housing Commission.

South Bay
Incumbent South Bay Mayor Joe Kyles faces challenger Allen J. Davis for the Seat 2 spot. Incumbent Betty Barnard is running for the Seat 4 against Barbara A. King, a business owner who runs a tutoring nonprofit.

As Tequesta Mayor Abby Brennan departs after 10 years on the Village Council, two candidates seek to fill her Seat 2 position: Molly Young, an alternate on the village’s Planning and Zoning Board, and Harrison Vaughn, a risk management consultant. The council will choose who becomes mayor.

West Palm Beach
After one candidate, Roderick Clarke, didn’t meet the residency requirement, West Palm Beach voters should note that the only two qualified candidates for the District 2 race are Deandre Poole and Shalonda Warren. Poole is a Florida Atlantic University instructor and Warren is the CEO of the Sickle Cell Foundation of Palm Beach County and the Treasure Coast.
The 76,671 voters in West Palm Beach, the county’s largest municipal electorate, will not have a ballot question.