A driver was fined $100 after they were caught smoking in a vehicle with a young child present.
The incident occurred in Virginia Beach on May 7th.
— VBPD Traffic Safety (@VBPDTraffic) May 8, 2018
In 2016, lawmakers in Virginia passed a law to make it a legal for anyone to smoke in a vehicle with a child under the age of eight present. The law allows law enforcement personnel to issue $100 tickets to anyone caught in violation of the law.
The Virginia Beach Police Department sent out a tweet warning other drivers that if they don’t want to be fined $100, they would “protect their children.”