Democrats Doug Jones and Tina Smith Are Sworn Into Senate

Sen. Doug Jones, D-Ala., listens as Vice President Mike Pence, right, administers the Senate oath of office during a mock swearing in ceremony in the Old Senate Chamber, Wednesday, Jan. 3, 2018 on Capitol Hill in Washington. (AP Photo/Jacquelyn Martin)

Doug Jones and Tina Smith, two Democratic senators, were sworn in on Wednesday narrowing the Republican Senate Majority to 51-49.

The 63-year-old Jones, who was accompanied on the Senate floor by his family and former Vice President Joe Biden replaces now-Attorney General Jeff Sessions. Republicans had held the seat for close to 25 years before Roy Moore lost in mid-December. The seat is up for reelection again in 2020.

The 59-year-old Smith replaces Democratic Sen. Al Franken, who officially resigned yesterday over sexual harassment allegations. Tina Smith was Minnesota’s lieutenant governor until appointed last month by Democratic Gov. Mark Dayton.


Local Caregiver Arrested for Restraining and Neglecting Elderly Patients Broward Deputies Schedule a No-Confidence Vote for Sheriff Scott Israel Democrats Sue Trump Campaign, Russia and WikiLeaks National Student Walkout Day Calls for Gun Safety on 19th Anniversary of Columbine One Student Shot, One in Custody in Ocala School Shooting Two Florida Deputies Gunned Down While Eating Lunch